1101 Market Street, 11th Floor • Philadelphia, PA 19107

Phone: 215-238-6300 •

November 01, 2002

Philadelphia Bar Association Announces Ruth Bader Ginsburg Legal Writing Competition

Philadelphia Bar Association Chancellor-Elect Audrey C. Talley today announced the 2003 Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg Pursuit of Justice Legal Writing Competition for law students. The award, which will be presented at the Bar Association October Quarterly Meeting and Luncheon on Oct. 23, 2003, recognizes excellence in legal analysis and writing skills in a student enrolled in a Philadelphia area law school. Essays will focus on any topic relating to rights, privileges and responsibilities under federal law.

The competition is open to full- and part-time law students in their second or third year of study during the 2002-03 academic year at one of the following five schools: University of Pennsylvania School of Law, Rutgers School of Law (Camden), Temple University James E. Beasley School of Law, Villanova University School of Law, Widener University School of Law (Delaware Campus). Submissions may not have been published previously, although they may have been prepared in connection with a law school course and must not have been submitted for any other competition during the time when they are under consideration for this competition.

"We see this competition as an important way to encourage legal scholarship, provoke discussion of critical legal issues and recognize talented students in the Philadelphia area," said Audrey C. Talley, Chancellor-Elect of the Philadelphia Bar Association. Diane Edelman, Assistant Dean for Legal Writing at Villanova University School of Law, and Kathleen D. Wilkinson, a partner with Wilson, Elser, Moskowitz, Edelman & Dicker LLP, are co-chairs of the competition.

In addition to having his or her essay published in The Philadelphia Lawyer and on the Bar Association's Web site, a cash prize of $2,500 will be awarded.

A committee of Philadelphia area attorneys, professors and judges will evaluate the submissions, considering the following criteria: originality and importance of topic; thoroughness of research; depth of analysis; organization of analysis, writing style; form, quality and placement of citations; and adherence to the rules of the competition.

Judges for this year's competition are Judge Anita B. Brody, U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania; Judge Abraham Gafni, formerly of the Court of Common Pleas, Philadelphia County; Professor Elizabeth Hillman, Rutgers University School of Law (Camden); Professor Catherine Lanctot, Villanova University School of Law; Professor Mary Ellen Maatman, Widener-Harrisburg Law School; Professor Nathaniel Persily, University of Pennsylvania Law School; Professor Mark Rahdert, Temple University James E. Beasley School of Law; Nancy Winkelman, partner at Schnader Harrison Segal & Lewis LLP.

Submissions must be postmarked by no later than 12 a.m., April 30, 2003. Announcement of the winner is expected July 1, 2003. For a complete list of rules and regulation for the Judge Ruth Bader Ginsburg Pursuit of Justice Legal Writing Competition, call Diane Edelman at (610) 519-7047 or Kathleen D. Wilkinson at (215) 627-6900.

# # #