1101 Market Street, 11th Floor • Philadelphia, PA 19107

Phone: 215-238-6300 •

April 25, 2002

Bar Assn. Seeks Nominations for Distinguished Jurist Award

Philadelphia Bar Association Chancellor Allan H. Gordon has announced the opening of nominations for the Association's prestigious William J. Brennan Jr. Distinguished Jurist Award.

The award recognizes an individual who adheres to the highest ideals of judicial service. Any member of the state or federal bench, whether active or retired, who has made a significant, positive impact on the quality or administration of justice in Philadelphia is eligible for consideration. Accomplishments worthy of recognition might include innovations in court administration; implementation of pioneering case management techniques; issuance of an opinion with far-reaching, positive effects; assumption of a leadership role in areas affecting the administration of justice; publication of a significant article, opinion or other scholarly work, and the like.

U.S. Supreme Court Associate Justice William J. Brennan Jr. was the first recipient of the award, which was created in 1995. The award, which is now named in honor of the Justice Brennan, was subsequently awarded to President Judge Alex Bonavitacola of Philadelphia Common Pleas Court (1996); Judge Phyllis W. Beck of Pennsylvania Superior Court (1997); Chief Judge Edward R. Becker of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 3rd Circuit (1998); Senior Judge Louis C. Bechtle of the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania (1999), and Hon. James T. Giles, Chief Judge of the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania (2000). The Brennan Award was not given in 2001.

This year's Brennan Award committee is chaired by Francis P. Newell, Esq., a partner with the Center City law firm of Montgomery, McCracken, Walker & Rhoads, LLP. Ann B. Laupheimer, Esq. of Blank Rome Comisky & McCauley, LLP and Sunah Park, Esq. of Thorp Reed & Armstrong, LLP also sit on the committee.

Nominations for the Justice Brennan Distinguished Jurist Award should be forwarded to Brennan Award, Attn: Genna Viozzi, Philadelphia Bar Association, 1101 Market St., 10th Fl., Philadelphia, PA 19107, and must be received no later than 5 p.m. on Friday, August 16, 2002.

Each nomination should include a summary of the nominee's accomplishments and any relevant supporting material, if desired, as well as the full name, address and phone number of both the nominee and the person submitting the nomination. A committee composed of experienced attorneys with broad-based experience in state and federal court will consider the nominations and choose this year's award recipient. The Brennan award is presented annually at the October Quarterly Meeting of the Philadelphia Bar Association. Question regarding the award should be directed to Genna Viozzi at (215) 238-6342.

# # #