1101 Market Street, 11th Floor • Philadelphia, PA 19107

Phone: 215-238-6300 •

October 22, 2003

Ruth Bader Ginsburg Legal Writing Competition Award to be Presented to Temple Grad. Kimberly Bartman

Philadelphia Bar Association has announced that the winner of the first-ever Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg Pursuit of Justice Legal Writing Competition is Kimberly Bartman, a recent graduate of Temple University Beasley School of Law. The $2,500 award, which will be presented at the Bar Association October Quarterly Meeting and Luncheon on Oct. 23 with Justice Ginsburg present, recognizes excellence in legal analysis and writing skills in a student enrolled in a Philadelphia area law school. Essays focused on any topic relating to rights, privileges and responsibilities under federal law. Bartman's essay, entitled "Not Exactly What Congress Intended," evaluates the Supreme Court's restricted scope of the Americans With Disabilities Act.

Bartman graduated from law school cum laude and in the top 10 percent of her class. This Fall she began working in the general litigation department of Dechert LLP.

The competition is open to full- and part-time law students in their second or third year of study during at one of the following five schools: University of Pennsylvania School of Law, Rutgers School of Law (Camden), Temple University James E. Beasley School of Law, Villanova University School of Law, Widener University School of Law (Delaware Campus). Submissions may not have been published previously, although they may have been prepared in connection with a law school course and must not have been submitted for any other competition during the time when they are under consideration for this competition.

Diane Edelman, Assistant Dean for Legal Writing at Villanova University School of Law, and Kathleen D. Wilkinson, a partner with Wilson, Elser, Moskowitz, Edelman & Dicker LLP, are co-chairs of the competition. Judges for the competition are: Judge Anita B. Brody, U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of PA; Judge Abraham J. Gafni, formerly of the Court of Common Pleas; Prof. Elizabeth Hillman, Rutgers University School of Law; Prof. Catherine Lanctot, Villanova University School of Law; Prof. Mary Ellen Maatman, Widener University School of Law; Prof. Nathaniel Persily, University of Pennsylvania Law School; Prof. Mark Rahdert, Temple University Beasley School of Law; and Nancy Winkelman, a partner at Schnader Harrison Segal & Lewis LLP. The Committee is grateful for the assistance of Deborah Weinstein and Sandra A. Girifalco in the formation of the Award.

Kimberly Bartman's award-winning essay can be read online here.

# # #