1101 Market Street, 11th Floor • Philadelphia, PA 19107

Phone: 215-238-6300 •

November 03, 2003

Citizens Pro Bono Awards to Morgan, Hecker at Hamilton Ball

The Philadelphia Bar Association’s Citizens Pro Bono Award bestowed by the Association, the Philadelphia Bar Foundation and Citizens Bank will be presented to two Philadelphia law firms: Morgan, Lewis & Bockius and Hecker Brown Sherry and Johnson LLP. Kevin Donovan will receive the award on behalf of Morgan and Madeline M. Sherry will receive it for Hecker Brown.

The Award will be presented at the Bar Foundation’s annual Andrew Hamilton Charity Ball on Saturday, November 8 at 8 p.m. at the Regency Ballroom of the Loews Philadelphia Hotel at 1200 Market St. The Ball, which helps to fund programs for people who need but cannot afford legal help, is the Philadelphia legal community’s premier social event.

The Citizens Pro Bono Award honors outstanding volunteer (pro bono) advocacy by Philadelphia law firms or legal departments.

"The Award Committee received numerous very impressive nominations for this honor," according to Committee Chair Alan M. Feldman. "The nominations showed a genuine commitment to pro bono activities. The members of the Committee marveled at the descriptions of the cases covered, and the intensity and excellence demonstrated by the pro bono attorneys, who showed extraordinary effort and uncommon commitment to the cases they took on," he added. "These attorneys really went the extra mile to provide a level of service well above and beyond the call of duty - a level of lawyering that personifies the ideal of “the Philadelphia lawyer.” The winners should be very proud. Their work is a wonderful reflection on the Philadelphia Bar, its leadership, and their commitment to pro bono work at every level."

In addition to Feldman, award committee members were: Bar Association Chancellor Audrey C. Talley, Bar Foundation President Gerald A. McHugh, Jr., Bar Foundation President-Elect Edward F. Chacker, Bar Association Chair of the Board of Governors Jane L. Dalton, Alexander Kerr, Robert W. Meek, Christopher Ritchie of Citizens Bank and Deborah Khan.

# # #