1101 Market Street, 11th Floor • Philadelphia, PA 19107

Phone: 215-238-6300 •

December 08, 2006

Attorney to Receive Thurgood Marshall Award

George Henry Newman of Newman and Associates will be honored with the Criminal Justice Section's Thurgood Marshall Award at its Dec. 14 annual holiday reception at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel.

Newman served as chair of the Criminal Justice Section in 1987 and 2004. He received his B.A. from the University of Pennsylvania and his law degree from Temple University School of Law. He previously worked as an assistant defender for the Defender Association of Philadelphia. He also clerked for the Honorable Richard B. Klein of the Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas.

"George Newman represents all that is good in criminal defense lawyers. He works hard and diligently for his clients while maintaining his responsibility as an officer of the Court," said Judge Richard B. Klein. "He has the highest sense of integrity and devotion to the law and strives tirelessly for improvements for his fellow lawyers and for the justice system."

The award is given to someone who has devoted time, energy and talent to improving the standards of justice in the Philadelphia and Pennsylvania courts. The award also recognizes significant accomplishments in improving the administration of criminal justice and in achieving the goals of the Criminal Justice Section.

Past recipients include:
  • A. Charles Peruto, Esq.
  • Judge Stanley Kubacki
  • Stanford Shmukler, Esq.
  • Judge Lois Forer
  • Bruce A. Franzel, Esq.
  • Burton A. Rose, Esq.
  • Judge Carolyn Engel Temin
  • Steven G. Laver, Esq.
  • Judge Legrome Davis
  • Councilman David Cohen
  • Deputy District Attorney Raymond Harley
  • Judge Anthony J. DeFino
  • Judith Frankel Rubino, Esq.
  • Judge Abram Frank Reynolds
  • Bernard L. Siegel, Esq.
  • Judge Benjamin Lerner.
# # #