1101 Market Street, 11th Floor • Philadelphia, PA 19107

Phone: 215-238-6300 •

December 06, 2010

Philadelphia Bar Association Annual Meeting and Election Dec. 7

Rudolph Garcia The Philadelphia Bar Association's Annual Meeting Luncheon, featuring inaugural remarks from incoming Chancellor Rudolph Garcia of Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC, will be held on Tuesday, Dec. 7 at noon in the Grand Ballroom of the Hyatt at The Bellevue, Broad and Walnut streets. The event will also feature the presentation of the Justice William J. Brennan Jr. Distinguished Jurist Award and the Wells Fargo Fidelity Award. Click here to purchase tickets.

Election of officers and members of the Board of Governors will also be held on Tuesday, Dec. 7, from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. on the Ballroom Level of the Hyatt at The Bellevue. Officers to be elected are Vice Chancellor, Secretary, Treasurer, Assistant Secretary, Assistant Treasurer and five members of the Board of Governors for three-year terms.

According to Article IV, Section 406, Paragraph B, "The election shall be by (1) secret mailed ballot and (2) paper ballot or voting machine. In addition, Members may vote electronically over the Internet to the extent permitted by law pursuant to procedures established by the Board to preserve the confidentiality of the Member's vote and the integrity of the voting process. Voting machines, if available, shall be preferred for in-person voting, unless there is an election at which there is no contest. The position of the nominee on the ballot shall be determined by lot. The drawing of lots shall be conducted by the Judge of Elections not less than 25 days before the Annual Meeting in the presence of the nominees and/or their representatives. The form of the ballot shall be prescribed by the Board. A ballot shall be sent by the Association by mail to every Association member eligible to vote at least two weeks prior to the date set for the Annual Meeting. A mailed ballot shall not be counted unless it has been received at the office of the Association no later than 10 a.m. three business days prior to the date set for the Annual Meeting and in such manner as to preserve the confidentiality of the Member's vote. The Judge of Elections shall count the mailed ballots after the polls have been closed."

Ballots will be mailed on Thursday, Nov. 18, and must be received at the offices of the Philadelphia Bar Association, 1101 Market St., 11th Floor, by 10 a.m. on Thursday, Dec. 2, 2010.

Candidates for office are: Kathleen D. Wilkinson, Vice Chancellor; Sophia Lee, Secretary; Joseph A. Prim Jr., Treasurer; Kim R. Jessum and Jacqueline G. Segal, Assistant Secretary; Wesley R. Payne IV, Assistant Treasurer; Brian S. Chacker, Nikki Johnson-Huston, Angus Love, Scott W. Reid, Gina Furia Rubel and Marc J. Zucker, Board of Governors (elect five).
# # #