1101 Market Street, 11th Floor • Philadelphia, PA 19107

Phone: 215-238-6300 •

November 10, 2010

Recipients of 2010 Brennan Award Announced

U.S. Magistrate Judges L. Felipe Restrepo and Timothy R. Rice will receive the Association’s Justice William J. Brennan Jr. Distinguished Jurist Award for their work presiding over the Supervision to Aid Re-entry Program. The award will be presented at the Association’s Annual Meeting Luncheon on Tuesday, Dec. 7.

The program, initiated in 2007, serves Philadelphians returning home from federal prison and who are under the supervision of the U.S. Probation Office and deemed to be at risk of re-offending and returning to prison. Judges Restrepo and Rice meet biweekly with a group of 25 participants. The judges talk with each member of the group about the progress of their re-entry. The judges help the participants re-establish themselves as productive members of their families and communities. After 52 successful weeks in the program, participants graduate and have their supervision term reduced by as much as one year.

The Brennan Award recognizes a jurist who adheres to the highest ideals of judicial service. Any member of the state or federal bench, whether active or retired, who has made a significant, positive impact on the quality or administration of justice in Philadelphia is eligible for consideration. Examples of accomplishments worthy of nomination include innovations in court administration, implementation of pioneering case management techniques, assumption of a leadership role in areas affecting the administration of justice, publication of a significant opinion, article, or other scholarly work, or the like.

Previous winners of the Justice William J. Brennan Jr. Distinguished Jurist Award include Justice Brennan, Judge Annette M. Rizzo, Judge Albert W. Sheppard Jr., Judge Sandra Mazer Moss, Judge Louis Presenza, Judge Edmund V. Ludwig, Judge James R. Melinson, Judge Louis Pollak, Justice Russell M. Nigro, Judge James T. Giles, Judge Louis C. Bechtle, Judge Edward R. Becker, Judge Phyllis W. Beck and Judge Alex Bonavitacola.
# # #