Notable Supreme Court Decisions

There are nine members of the Supreme Court, consisting of one Chief Justice and eight Associate Justices. Contrary to popular belief, that number is not set by the U.S. Constitution. Rather, it is set by Congress. Originally, there were six Justices of the Supreme Court, and that number changed six times before finally settling at the current number of nine in 1869. Congress retains the authority to change the number of Justices.

MGM v. Grokster -- Decided June 27, 2005
Issue: Copyright Infringement – Can a distributor of file-sharing software be held liable if a third party uses it to infringe copyrighted material?

Kelo v. City of New London -- Decided June 23, 2005
Issue: Eminent Domain – When is the taking of private property for “public use”?