YLD Elects 7 New Executive Committee Members

YLD Executive Committee voting occured via mail ballot and in-person voting on Dec. 6th...READ MORE

YLD Holiday Party

At least week's YLD Holiday Party sponsored by LDiscovery Legal and Technology Consulting young lawyers and Bar leadership reflected on the past year as they looked ahead to 2012. A great time was had by all!

Chancellor's Reception Jan. 4

All members of the Philadelphia legal community are invited to a complimentary reception in honor of John E. Savoth, 85th Chancellor of the Philadelphia Bar Association, on Wednesday, Jan. 4 from 5 to 7 p.m. in the Grand Ballroom of the Hyatt at The Bellevue, Broad and Walnut streets. No RSVP is necessary. This is the event in which even the city's busiest legal luminaries patiently wait in line to wish the new Chancellor and each other good luck in the year ahead.


YLD Elects 7 New Executive Committee Members

The following seven candidates for the Young Lawyers Division Executive Committee were elected and will begin serving their terms on Jan. 1: Courtenay R. Dunn, Daniel J. Gillin, Maria E. Harris, Benjamin F. Johns, Erin Lamb, Kaitlin E. Picco and Jeffrey N. Rosenthal. Congratulations to all!

YLD Now Accepting Nominations for Peretta, Perry Awards; Deadline Dec. 21

The F. Sean Peretta Service Award is presented annually to an individual who has devoted substantial time to an innovative or non-traditional program that serves the community. Peretta was a private practitioner who died suddenly at age 31 who was a very involved community activist and a mentor to kids in his home neighborhood. He was viewed as a role model for African-American Youth.

The Craig M. Perry Service Award is presented annually to a young lawyer - 37 years old or younger or within the first three years of practice - who has devoted substantial time and energy to community-oriented activities, including, but not limited to, pro bono and charity work. Perry was a member of the YLD Executive Committee who suffered an untimely death. He was very involved in community service and active in student-related and other YLD programs.

Nominations should include the individual's name, address and a brief statement describing his or her qualifications. The deadline for nominations is Monday, Dec. 21. All nominations should be submitted to Dawn Petit at the Philadelphia Bar Association, 1101 Market Street, 11th Floor, Philadelphia, PA 19107 or email to dpetit@philabar.org.

William P. Fedullo Elected Vice Chancellor; Five Gain Board of Governors Seats

The following candidates for Bar offices ran unopposed and will begin serving in their positions on Jan. 1: Sophia Lee, Secretary; Joseph A. Prim Jr., Treasurer; Jacqueline G. Segal, Assistant Secretary; and Wesley R. Payne IV, Assistant Treasurer.

The following five candidates for Board of Governors were unopposed on Dec. 6 and will begin their terms on Jan. 1.: Jennifer Segal Coatsworth, Rainy Papademetriou, James A. Rocco III, Eric H. Weitz and Kay Kyungsun Yu.